 |
| Sleepyhead missed the concert! |
Ok, so we know we didn't post last night, and we offer sincere apologies, but it was 4AM by the time I got home, and Zayn had already turned in for the night. So this'll be a bit of a double post, and we apologize for the length.
We didn't do much yesterday until late afternoon, when we went for a quick run around Salamanca, during which we discovered the FIBA stadium is totally within walking distance to satisfy our extensive pro-B-ball needs. When we got home in all our sweaty glory, we ran into our host dad, who, as it turns out, is a personal trainer (I thought he just went to the gym a lot), who seemed very excited to see that we are trying to Stay Fit.
After a Skype sesh with the fam (and a much-needed shower), it was time for DCODE Music Festival, which I think is Spain's largest music fest. Sadly, Zayn wasn't feeling up to it and decided to hit the sack early. Let me tell you, that kid missed out.
I met Riva and Alexandra at their apartment, and from there we metro'd to the Complutense campus, grabbed some pizza, and settled in for the night. The crowd and music were pretty similar to LouFest, just the nocturnal version. We got there around 9PM and left after 3AM, which isn't like the *ideal* schedule but oh man I had so much fun. For sure my best night in Spain so far, really good music, everyone so happy to be there, lots of dancing. Highlights were Jake Bugg, Beck, La Roux, and CHVRCHES. It was still going when we left, too, but we wanted to be able to catch a taxi before the rush hit. Plus, as I said, it was after 3AM.
 |
| Craft beer at last! |
This morning, we joined the WUSTL kids for brunch around 1. We were trying to hit up this American brunch place--I need some fucking bacon, man--but apparently you have to make reservations like a week in advance, so we strolled around a little and found a place nearby with a decent lunch menu and a large craft beer selection, where Riva and I had our first good beers in Spain! It was a Madrid-made lager and gave me hope for humanity.
 |
| La Ciudad Invisible |
We spent the rest of the day chilling with Riva in this very cool coffee shop with free Wi-Fi AND outlets with a kind of Kayaks-y atmosphere. Gotta have someplace to do homework, which I had kind of forgotten about, but this seems like a good bet. It's called "La Ciudad Invisible," and is pretty near a Metro stop, so this may be the place to hit.
I'm not expecting any more excitement today, so this'll probably be the only update til tomorrow, even though it's still pretty early. At least by Spanish standards.